New life for the rast chest.

Even though I am not done completely with the chest, the main part is done, so I decided to show the result already. I still need to find nice matching pulls, but it may take a while, so I dont’ want to wait till then. I will have a great excuse to make an update post :)

So, the orignal rast (probably the most hacked of IKEA furniture):

The process. I first chose stain named “palisander”, but I didn’t like the result, so did another layer in Graphite. First I thought that I wanted something more “natural”, but nah, nothing special.

In the end, the result:

I used the same fabric I used to cover the table top in home office. I really love it, threat shade of grays, subtle image.

And totally unrelated, but Taya looked so sweet when she kept me company:

2 thoughts on “New life for the rast chest.

  1. You definitely have to teach me how to cover things in fabric! They look amazing and the fabric you are using is absolutely perfect!!!

    • thanks, Katie! It’s really pretty straight forward, takes some planning, glue and .. that’s it really. The rest is optional, like decorative tape to cover up ends or nails (decorative carpentry nails look beautiful). It’s fun!

Leave a Reply

